[Coral-List] U.S. NOAA Seeking Nominations for Walter B. Jones Awards

Alissa Barron alissa.barron at noaa.gov
Tue Oct 30 18:12:22 EDT 2007

Coral colleagues -- Please see below regarding an opportunity to nominate leaders in coastal and ocean resource management for the Walter B. Jones awards. Please contact the folks listed below if you'd like additional information. Sent on behalf of the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management. 

Apologies for cross postings.

NOAA Seeking Nominations for Walter B. Jones Awards

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration announces the Call 
for Nominations for the 2008 Walter B. Jones Memorial Awards for Coastal 
and Ocean Resource Management. Innovation, resourcefulness, and a 
commitment to balancing the human use of America’s coastal and ocean 
resources with the needs of the resources themselves – these are the 
hallmarks of the awards.

The Coastal Zone Management Act (CZMA) of 1972 created a unique and 
voluntary partnership of federal and state governments to provide a 
balance between land and water uses in coastal zones, and to conserve 
fragile coastal resources. As part of the 1990 CZMA reauthorization, 
then-chair of the House Merchant Marine and Fisheries Committee, the 
late Honorable Walter B. Jones, Sr., provided NOAA authority to honor 
individuals and organizations whose work reflects the innovation and 
balance needed to maintain a healthy coast for present and future 

The award categories are:
* Coastal Steward of the Year
* Excellence in Local Government
* Excellence in Coastal and Marine Graduate Study
* The Susan Snow-Cotter Award for Excellence in Ocean and Coastal 
Resource Management
* Volunteer of the Year
* Non-governmental Organization (NGO) of the Year
* Excellence in Promoting Diversity in Coastal or Ocean Resource Management
* Excellence in Business Leadership

The program is open to individuals, organizations, state and local 
government agencies and their employees. Entries must adhere to the 
strict submission and judging criteria and must be received by November 
15, 2007. Winners will be notified in early February 2008 and honored at 
a ceremony in Washington, DC, later in the month.

For nomination information about the awards:

- Visit: oceanservice.noaa.gov/programs/ocrm/jones-noaa-awards.html.

- Email: jonesnoaa.awards at noaa.gov

- Phone Patmarie Nedelka, 301-563-1127

More information about the Coral-List mailing list