[CDHC] grant opportunity

Cheryl Woodley cheryl.woodley at noaa.gov
Fri Jul 13 19:28:40 EDT 2007

I wanted to pass this information along for any of you that may be 

Subject: FY08 NOAA International Coral Grants Announcement
Date: Thu, 05 Jul 2007 14:04:23 -0400
From: Eileen Alicea <Eileen.Alicea at noaa.gov>

Please distribute widely: NOAA International Coral Reef Grants
Announcement for Fiscal Year 08 projects: Published July 4, 2007 in

The NOAA International Coral Reef Conservation Grant Program, as
authorized under the Coral Reef Conservation Act of 2000, provides
matching grants of financial assistance for international coral reef
conservation projects. The Program solicits proposals under four
funding categories:
1) Promote Watershed Management in the Wider Caribbean, Brazil, and Bermuda;
2) Regional Enhancement of Marine Protected Area Management Effectiveness;
3) Encourage the Development of National Networks of Marine Protected
Areas in the Wider Caribbean, Bermuda, Brazil, Southeast Asia, and
the South Pacific; and
4) Promote Regional Socio-Economic Training and Monitoring in Coral
Reef Management in the Wider Caribbean, Brazil, Bermuda, the Western
Indian Ocean, the Red Sea, the South Pacific, South Asia, and
Southeast Asia.
Each funding category has specific applicant and project eligibility 

Eligible applicants include all international, governmental (except
U.S. federal agencies), and non-governmental organizations. For
specific country eligibility per category, please refer to individual
category descriptions in Section V. of the Federal Funding
Opportunity. The proposed work must be conducted at a non-U.S. site.
Eligible countries are defined as follows: The Wider Caribbean
includes the 37 States and territories that border the marine
environment of the Gulf of Mexico, the Caribbean Sea, and the areas
of the Atlantic Ocean adjacent thereto, and Brazil and Bermuda, but
excluding areas under U.S. jurisdiction. The South Pacific Region
includes South Pacific Regional Environment Programs Pacific island
countries and territories, including the Federated States of
Micronesia, Republic of Palau, and the Republic of the Marshall
Islands, but excluding U.S. territories and four developed country
members. South Asia includes India, Sri Lanka, the Maldives,
Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Southeast Asia Region includes Brunei,
Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore,
Thailand, and Vietnam. The Western Indian Ocean Region includes
Comoros, France (La Reunion), Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius,
Mozambique, Seychelles, the United Republic of Tanzania, and South
Africa. The Red Sea Region includes five member countries of the
Regional Organization for the Conservation of the Environment of the
Red Sea and Gulf of Aden (PERSGA): Djibouti, Egypt, Jordan, the
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, and Yemen.

The Federal Funding Opportunity contains all details regarding
criteria for each category, pre-application format, funding amounts,
etc. Please log on to www.grants.gov and do a Basic Search for
Opportunity # NOS-IPO-2008-2001058.

For further information, please write to international.coral.grants at noaa.gov

Cheryl Woodley, Ph.D.
Coral Health and Disease Program

Center for Coastal Environmental Health and Biomolecular Research
Hollings Marine Laboratory
331 Fort Johnson Rd
Charleston, SC 29412
843.762.8862 Phone
843.762.8737 Fax
cheryl.woodley at noaa.gov

More information about the CDHC mailing list