Richard B. Aronson raronson at
Tue May 21 21:55:26 EDT 2002

This message concerns elections to be held by the International Society
for Reef Studies.  If you are not a member and would like to join and
participate in the Society, please see for details.

Election of Officers and Councillors
Nomination Deadline Extended to June 21.

The International Society for Reef Studies will be holding elections in
September 2002 to replace outgoing officers and members of the ISRS
Council.  We will be electing a new President to replace retiring
President Terry Done, a Vice President (currently Barbara Brown) and a
Corresponding Secretary (currently Rich Aronson).  In addition, we will be
replacing six retiring members of the ISRS Council: Loke-Ming Chou, Hector
Guzman, Nicholas Polunin, Robert Richmond, Suharsono and Carden
Wallace.  Treasurer John Ware and Recording Secretary Peter Edmunds will
continue for another two years, as will six members of the ISRS
Council: Robert van Woesik, Lucien Montaggioni, Kathleen Sullivan-Sealey,
Helge P. Vogt, Jaime Garzon-Ferreira and Hajime Kayanne.  The tenure of
each elected position is 4 years, and new officers and councillors will
take over beginning 1 January 2003.  These positions are open only to
members of ISRS.
        Nominations should be submitted to Corresponding Secretary Rich
Aronson by post (Dauphin Island Sea Lab, 101 Bienville Boulevard, Dauphin
Island, AL 36528, USA), by fax (251-861-7540), or as an email attachment
(raronson at  Because of constitutional requirements, a nomination
submitted as text of an email message cannot be accepted unless it is also
submitted by one of the above methods.  Each nomination should consist of
the person's name, institution and country, and the post for which s/he is
running.  Each candidate should provide a one-paragraph statement about
his/her qualifications for the position (a brief history of his/her
involvement in coral reef work) and objectives while in that position (how
s/he envisions working to the benefit of ISRS).  Also required by the
Society's bylaws is a statement of disclosure of any financial
arrangements the candidate may have with any publisher of scientific
literature.  Self-nominations are welcome.  If you wish to nominate
someone other than yourself, please ask that person to mail, fax or email
Rich Aronson a confirmation of his/her willingness to run for the office.
        DEADLINE:  The deadline for nominations has been extended to 21
June 2002. Ballots and biographical sketches will be mailed to all members
of ISRS, the ballots to be returned to the Recording Secretary in
September (exact date to be announced).  The biographical sketches of the
candidates will also be posted on the ISRS web site,,
until the day ballots are due.  The results of the election will be
announced once the ballots have been counted.
This is your chance to participate in running your Society.  We look
forward to hearing from you!

For directions on subscribing and unsubscribing to coral-list or the
digests, please visit, click on Popular on the
menu bar, then click on Coral-List Listserver.

More information about the Coral-list-old mailing list