[Coral-List] 2006 ISRS/TOC fellowship winners

Robert van Woesik rvw at fit.edu
Wed Jun 14 15:42:46 EDT 2006

Dear coral list,


Each year, The Ocean Conservancy and ISRS co-fund a program of fellowships
for graduate studies in coral reef science. Competition was fierce this
year, with more than 80 proposals submitted. On behalf of ISRS President
Nick Polunin I am pleased to announce the winners of this year's ISRS/TOC
Graduate Fellowships in Coral Reef Science, listed below in alphabetical


Wade Cooper, University of Miami, USA; Quantifying the effects of site
quality on settlement and early post-settlement dynamics in Scleractinians;


Annika Noreen, Southern Cross University, Australia; Corals at the

extreme:  connectivity and population dynamics of reef-building corals in
subtropical eastern Australia;


Carlos Toledo-Hernandez, University of Puerto Rico; Fungal community
associated with diseased and healthy Gorgonia ventalina, the role of
temperature stress and demographic 

consequences of aspergillosis to G. ventalina colonies;


Karin Ulstrup, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia; Bleaching
resilience of Acropora spp. associating with two phylogenetically different
algal endosymbionts;


Sheila Walsh, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA; Do
predator-dominated coral reefs have higher fish biomass and potential
harvest due to changes in growth rates?;


Anabella Zuluaga-Montero, University of Puerto Rico; Aspergillosis in sea
fans: phylogenetic relationship among Aspergillosis strains and patterns of



We are grateful to The Ocean Conservancy for their continuing support of
deserving students of coral reef science. I would like to add my personal
thanks to ISRS Recording Secretary Rob van Woesik and his fellowships
committee for reviewing the proposals.




Richard B. Aronson

ISRS Vice President



More information about the Coral-List mailing list