[Coral-List] 2008 NOAA International Coral Reef Grants

Eileen Alicea Eileen.Alicea at noaa.gov
Mon Jul 9 16:06:56 EDT 2007

NOAA International Coral Reef Grants Announcement for Fiscal Year '08 
projects: Published July 4, 2007 in Grants.gov

The NOAA International Coral Reef Conservation Grant Program, as 
authorized under the Coral Reef Conservation Act of 2000, provides 
matching grants of financial assistance for international coral reef 
conservation projects. The Program solicits proposals under four funding 
1) Promote Watershed Management in the Wider Caribbean, Brazil, and Bermuda;
2) Regional Enhancement of Marine Protected Area Management Effectiveness;
3) Encourage the Development of National Networks of Marine Protected 
Areas in the Wider Caribbean, Bermuda, Brazil, Southeast Asia, and the 
South Pacific; and
4) Promote Regional Socio-Economic Training and Monitoring in Coral Reef 
Management in the Wider Caribbean, Brazil, Bermuda, the Western Indian 
Ocean, the Red Sea, the South Pacific, South Asia, and Southeast Asia.
Each funding category has specific applicant and project eligibility 

Pre-applications must be received by NOAA by 11:59 p.m., U.S. Eastern 
Time, on Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2007.

Eligible applicants include all international, governmental (except U.S. 
federal agencies), and non-governmental organizations. For specific 
country eligibility per category, please refer to individual category 
descriptions in Section V. of the Federal Funding Opportunity. The 
proposed work must be conducted at a non-U.S. site. Eligible countries 
are defined as follows: The Wider Caribbean includes the 37 States and 
territories that border the marine environment of the Gulf of Mexico, 
the Caribbean Sea, and the areas of the Atlantic Ocean adjacent thereto, 
and Brazil and Bermuda, but excluding areas under U.S. jurisdiction. The 
South Pacific Region includes South Pacific Regional Environment 
Programs Pacific island countries and territories, including the 
Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Palau, and the Republic of 
the Marshall Islands, but excluding U.S. territories and four developed 
country members. South Asia includes India, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, 
Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Southeast Asia Region includes Brunei, 
Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, 
and Vietnam. The Western Indian Ocean Region includes Comoros, France 
(La Reunion), Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, the 
United Republic of Tanzania, and South Africa. The Red Sea Region 
includes five member countries of the Regional Organization for the 
Conservation of the Environment of the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden 
(PERSGA): Djibouti, Egypt, Jordan, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, and Yemen.

Projects previously funded under this Program are not eligible for 
follow up pre-applications unless they have been completed per the grant 

The Federal Funding Opportunity contains all details regarding criteria 
for each category, pre-application format, funding amounts, etc.  Please 
log on to www.grants.gov and do a Basic Search for Opportunity # 
NOS-IPO-2008-2001058. For further information, please write to 
international.coral.grants at noaa.gov

More information about the Coral-List mailing list