[Coral-List] Extension of Darwin Award nominations until Oct 30th

Tim McClanahan tmcclanahan at wcs.org
Tue Sep 18 05:12:07 EDT 2007

Nominations for the Darwin Medal
The Darwin Medal, the most prestigious award given by ISRS, is presented
every four years at the International Coral Reef Symposium. It is awarded to
a senior ISRS member who is recognized worldwide for major contributions
throughout their career.  Previous recipients have been David Stoddart,
Peter Glynn, Ian Macintyre, Yossi Loya, and Charlie Veron. The next occasion
at which the medal will be presented is the Coral Reef Symposium in Ft.
Lauderdale in July 2008.

ISRS members are invited to send nominations (500 words maximum) to the
Corresponding Secretary Isabelle Cote <imcote at sfu.ca> by October 30 2007.
All nominations will then be forwarded to the ISRS Council for a vote.
Candidates will be judged on merit and service to coral reef science. On
receiving the award in Ft. Lauderdale, the medalist will give a plenary
address reviewing their field.

Tim McClanahan, PhD

More information about the Coral-List mailing list