[Coral-List] ICRS 2012: Plenary Speakers Announcement

Glasson, Eliza eliza.glasson at jcu.edu.au
Sun Jan 9 20:17:29 EST 2011

The Local Organising Committee for the 12th International Coral Reef Symposium in Cairns, Australia, 9 - 13 July 2012 is pleased to announce eight eminent Plenary Speakers:

1.   Denis Allemand, Centre Scientifique de Monaco, Monaco<http://www.icrs2012.com/Prog-Speakers.htm#DA>

2.   Ove Hoegh-Guldberg, University of Queensland, Australia<http://www.icrs2012.com/Prog-Speakers.htm#OHG>

3.   Jamaluddin Jompa, Hasanuddin University, Indonesia<http://www.icrs2012.com/Prog-Speakers.htm#JJ>

4.   Geoff Jones, James Cook University, Australia<http://www.icrs2012.com/Prog-Speakers.htm#GPJ>

5.   Peter Kareiva, The Nature Conservancy, United States of America<http://www.icrs2012.com/Prog-Speakers.htm#PK>

6.   Jane Lubchenco, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, United States of America<http://www.icrs2012.com/Prog-Speakers.htm#JL>

7.   Helene Marsh, James Cook University, Australia<http://www.icrs2012.com/Prog-Speakers.htm#HM>

8.   Madeleine van Oppen, Australian Institute of Marine Science, Australia<http://www.icrs2012.com/Prog-Speakers.htm#MVO>

The ninth and final Plenary speaker will be chosen by the International Society for Reef Studies in late 2011, as the next recipient of the Darwin Medal.

For your information, the Call for Mini-Symposia closed 1 December and the ICRS 2012 Organising Committee received more than 120 submissions.
We are now working to identify roughly 25 Mini-Symposia themes which will be announced and posted on the Symposium website in early 2011.

The Call for submission of Abstracts for talks and posters will open in July 2011.

Visit www.icrs2012.com<http://www.icrs2012.com> for information about ICRS 2012, and to sign up to Facebook or follow us on Twitter.


Terry Hughes
ICRS 2012 Convenor

More information about the Coral-List mailing list