[Coral-List] ISRS Darwin Medal Nominations - Reminder

Robert Richmond richmond at hawaii.edu
Wed Nov 30 16:24:04 EST 2011

Dear ISRS Members (and those who are not yet members but should join at this
auspicious moment - for a great discount on 12th ICRS registration as well
as expanding opportunities to engage in the Society to advance coral reef
science and it's applications)


Nominations for the Darwin Award remain open and will be accepted through
December 31, 2011

Darwin Medal

The Darwin Medal, the most prestigious award given by the International
Society for Reef Studies, is presented every four years at the International
Coral Reef Symposium. It is awarded to a senior ISRS member who is
recognized worldwide for major contributions throughout her/his career. The
next occasion at which the medal will be presented is the 12th International
Coral Reef Symposium, to be held in Cairns, Australia, 9-13 July 2012. ISRS
members are invited to send nominations (500 words maximum) to the
Corresponding Secretary Rupert Ormond [rupert.ormond.mci at gmail.com] by
December 31, 2011. All nominations will then be forwarded to the ISRS
Council for a vote. Candidates will be judged primarily on their scientific
excellence though their service to coral reef research and its dissemination
will be taken into account. On receiving the award in Cairns, the medalist
will give a plenary address reviewing their field (the Darwin Lecture) and
also submit an account of the address in the journal 'Coral Reefs.'

Notes for nominations

i) All nominators should ensure that their nominees are current members of
the International Society for Reef Studies (ISRS). Enquiries to this end can
be made via Rupert Ormond [rupert.ormond.mci at gmail.com] who holds an
up-to-date list of current members. Non-members of ISRS cannot be considered
for the award.

ii) All nominators should approach their proposed candidates before
nomination to ensure that they are prepared to stand. 

iii) It is recommended that nominators request an up-to-date curriculum
vitae and statement from their candidate on what he/she believes that they
have accomplished before writing the supporting statement which should be a
comprehensive assessment of their scientific career, including a synthesis
of their publication record. 

Previous Recipients of the Darwin Medal:

*	Professor Terry Hughes
<http://www.coralreefs.org/darwin-medal.htm#DarwinAdwards6>  - 2008 (11th
International Coral Reef Symposium, Ft Lauderdale)
*	Dr. J. E. N. (Charlie) Veron
<http://www.coralreefs.org/darwin-medal.htm#DarwinAdwards5>  - 2004 (10th
International Coral Reef Symposium, Okinawa)
*	Professor Yossi Loya
<http://www.coralreefs.org/darwin-medal.htm#DarwinAdwards4>  - 2000 (9th
International Coral Reef Symposium, Bali)
*	Dr. Ian G. MacIntyre
<http://www.coralreefs.org/darwin-medal.htm#DarwinAdwards3>  - 1996 (8th
International Coral Reef Symposium, Panama)
*	Dr. Peter W. Glynn
<http://www.coralreefs.org/darwin-medal.htm#DarwinAdwards2>  - 1992 (7th
International Coral Reef Symposium, Guam)
*	Dr. David Stoddart
<http://www.coralreefs.org/darwin-medal.htm#DarwinAdwards1>  - 1988
(Inaugural recipient)



Additional information can be found on the ISRS website:


Best wishes,




Robert H. Richmond, Ph.D.

Research Professor

Kewalo Marine Laboratory

University of Hawaii at Manoa

41 Ahui Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 USA

Phone: 808-539-7331

Fax: 808-599-4817

E-mail: Richmond at hawaii.edu

President, International Society for Reef Studies

More information about the Coral-List mailing list