[Coral-List] ISRS Darwin Medal Nominations

Robert H Richmond richmond at hawaii.edu
Thu Oct 13 13:17:29 EDT 2011

Nominations for the Darwin Medal
The Darwin Medal, the most prestigious award given by the International Society for Reef Studies, is presented every four years at the International Coral Reef Symposium. It is awarded to a senior ISRS member who is recognized worldwide for major scientific contributions throughout their career.  Previous recipients have been David Stoddart, Peter Glynn, Ian Macintyre, Yossi Loya, Charlie Veron and Terry Hughes. The next occasion at which the medal will be presented is the 12th International Coral Reef Symposium in Cairns, Australia in July, 2012.  ISRS members are invited to send nominations (500 words maximum) to the Corresponding Secretary Rupert Ormond [rupert.ormond.mci at gmail.com] by December 31, 2011. All nominations will then be forwarded to the ISRS Council for a vote. Candidates will be judged primarily on their scientific excellence though their service to coral reef research and its dissemination will be taken into account. On receiving the award in Cairns, the medalist will give a plenary address reviewing their field (the Darwin Lecture) and also submit an account of the address in the journal 'Coral Reefs.'
 Notes for nominators:
 i)  All nominators should ensure that their nominees are current members of the International Society for Reef Studies (ISRS). Enquiries to this end can be made via Rupert Ormond [rupert.ormond.mci at gmail.com] who holds an up-to-date list of current members. Non-members of ISRS cannot be considered for the award.
ii) All nominators should approach their proposed candidates before nomination to ensure that they are prepared to stand.
iii)  It is recommended that nominators request an up-to-date curriculum vitae and statement from their candidate on what he/she believes that they have accomplished before writing the supporting statement which should be a comprehensive assessment of their scientific career, including a synthesis of their publication record.
Details can be found on the ISRS website by following the link:  http://www.coralreefs.org/darwin-medal.htm
Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions.
Best wishes,
Robert H. Richmond, Ph.D.
Research Professor
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Kewalo Marine Laboratory
41 Ahui Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
Phone: 808-539-7331
fax: 808-599-4817
e-mail: richmond at hawaii.edu

President, International Society for Reef Studies

More information about the Coral-List mailing list