[Coral-List] ICRS Session 19: Coral reef structural dynamics and complexity: accretion versus bioerosion and dissolution

Nyssa Silbiger Silbiger at Hawaii.edu
Wed Dec 30 15:38:39 EST 2015

Dear Coral-listers,

We are excited to invite you to submit oral presentations and posters to
the following ICRS session:
Coral Reef Structural Dynamics and Complexity: Accretion versus Bioerosion
and Dissolution (Session 19).

Session Description:
Coral reefs are three-dimensional structures built and continually reshaped
through a complex interplay of physical, chemical and biological processes.
Rates and forms of calcium carbonate production, erosion and dissolution,
accumulation and transport, and physical loss and external
disturbance determine structural complexity, structural resilience and net
reef growth, key attributes upon which all reef ecosystem services depend.
These processes are sensitive to climate change and local stressors, yet
our understanding of the impact of these stressors, operating alone and in
tandem, on reef structure and complexity as well as the ecological
consequences thereof, remains limited.  This session brings together
scientists who study and measure the different aspects of reef structural
complexity and consequences thereof, using oceanographic, sedimentological,
chemical and ecological tools and perspectives.  We invite papers that
include, but are not restricted to 1) estimates of reef carbonate budgets
and the impact of local stressors and global change, 2) methods for
quantifying carbonate budgets (e.g., field-based hydrochemical, census
methods, laboratory, and modeling), 3) studies of bioerosion, dissolution,
and reef loss, 4) methods for analyzing 3D complexity of reefs (e.g.,
mapping tools, photogrammy, and long-term datasets), 5) the effect of 3D
structural complexity, and loss thereof, on reef biota, ecosystem
functioning, and ecosystem services, and  6) links between reef
accretion-erosion rates, carbonate budgets, and reef structural complexity.

The deadline for abstract submission is Friday, 15 January 2016;
manuscripts for the proceedings may be sent until Friday 22 January.

For information on abstract submissions:

Session Co-Chairs:
Nyssa Silbiger, University of California, Irvine
Chris Perry, University of Exeter
Alice Rogers, University of Queensland
Will Figueira, University of Sydney
Andreas Andersson, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Bradley Eyre, Southern Cross University
Tyler Cyronak, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Anne Cohen, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Fraser Januchowski-Hartley, University of Exeter
Thomas DeCarlo, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Yves-Marie Bozec, University of Queensland
Victor Ticzon, University of The Philippines, Los Banos
Manuel Gonzalez Rivero, University of Queensland
Renata Ferrari, University of Sydney

Nyssa Silbiger, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
415 Steinhaus Hall
University of California
Irvine, California 92697-2525

More information about the Coral-List mailing list