[Coral-List] Calling for Nominations for 2019 ICRS Awards

Lisa Rodrigues lisa.rodrigues at villanova.edu
Tue Dec 18 18:50:07 UTC 2018

Dear Colleagues,

Nominations for International Coral Reef Society awards are due in one month (by 15 January 2019).

Please submit your nominations before the deadline.

On behalf of the awards committee of the International Coral Reef Society, I am reaching out for your help in recognizing and rewarding the scholarship and contribution of our ICRS peers by nominating them for the following annual awards and honors:

1. Young Scientist Award

2. Mid-Career Scientist Award

3. Eminence in Research Award

4. World Reef Award

5. Coral Reef Conservation Award (US$2500 cash award)

6. ICRS Fellow

Eligibility details and nomination forms for each award can be found at http://coralreefs.org/society-awards-and-grants/awards-fellowships/. Please think of your well-deserving colleagues and submit a nomination. We hope to honor a wide diversity of our members and request your help with nominations.  The closing date for receipt of nominations for each award is 15 January 2019.

Nominations should be sent as a single .pdf or word file by email to the secretary of the Society's awards committee, Dr. Lisa Rodrigues, at lisa.rodrigues at villanova.edu<mailto:lisa.rodrigues at villanova.edu>. The file should be assembled and sent by the nominator, and the file should be designated with the following name (substitute as appropriate): AwardName_NominatorName_NomineeName.

Please pay special attention to the award-eligibility criteria, and be advised that all nominators, nominees, and those writing letters of support must be current members of ICRS.

Thank you and good luck to participants in this year's competition!

Below is a list of ICRS awardees to date:

Eminence in Research Award:

Bak, Rolf                              2018

Porter, James                    2018

Hoegh-Guldberg, Ove   2017

McClanahan, Timothy    2017

Fabricius, Katharina         2016

Willis, Bette                        2016

Brown, Barbara                 2015

Mid-Career Award:

Cinner, Joshua                  2018

Pratchett, Morgan           2017

Grottoli, Andrea               2016

Mumby, Peter                  2015

World Reef Award:

Bhagooli, Ranjeet            2018

Alvarez-Filip, Lorenzo     2017

Maina Mbui, Joseph       2017

Mangubhai, Sangeeta    2016

Coral Reef Conservation Award:

Rodney V. Salm                2018

Young Scientist Award:

Emily Darling                      2017

Muller, Erinn                      2015

ICRS Fellows include all those above plus:

Hoey, Andrew                   2018

Munday, Philip                  2018

Well, Susan                         2018

Schoenberg, Christine   2017

Hixon, Mark                       2016

Ormond, Rupert               2016

Baird, Andrew                   2015

Pandolfi, John                   2015

Van Woesik, Robert        2015

Richmond, Robert           Past ISRS President (2011-2014)

Aronson, Richard             Past ISRS President (2007-2010)

Polunin, Nicholas             Past ISRS President (2003-2006)

Done, Terence                  Past ISRS President (1999-2002)

Ogden, John                      Past ISRS President (1995-1998)

Salvat, Bernard                 Past ISRS President (1992-1994)

Sale, Peter                          Past ISRS President (1990-1992)

Birkeland, Charles            Past ISRS President (1987-1989)

Macintyre, Ian                   Past ISRS President (1983-1986)

Stoddart, David                 Past ISRS President (1980-1982)

Darwin Medal (awarded every 4 years):

John Randall                       2016 (13th International Coral Reef Symposium, Honolulu)

Jeremy Jackson                2012 (12th International Coral Reef Symposium, Cairns)

Terry Hughes                     2008 (11th International Coral Reef Symposium, Fort Lauderdale)

J. E. N. (Charlie) Veron   2004 (10th International Coral Reef Symposium, Okinawa)

Yossi Loya                            2000 (9th International Coral Reef Symposium, Bali)

Ian G. MacIntyre              1996 (8th International Coral Reef Symposium, Panama)

Peter W. Glynn                 1992 (7th International Coral Reef Symposium, Guam)

David Stoddart                  1988 (Inaugural recipient)

Lisa J Rodrigues
Associate Professor
Geography & the Environment
Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085
lisa.rodrigues at villanova.edu<mailto:lisa.rodrigues at villanova.edu>
Mendel Hall G67H

More information about the Coral-List mailing list